June joys (adventuring) 

More Parks Canada adventures…
My first Parks Canada adventure for 2017 took me to great heights and a great view from The Halifax Citadel Historic site (first views from inside the fort) May 20,2017. My second Parks experience for 2017 (June 10,2017) was a visit to Kouchibouguac national park about 1 hour from Moncton in Kent County New Brunswick. 

Barrier islands,sand dunes,salt marshes, lagoons and forest make up the park. The most popular and my favourite part of the park is Kelly’s Beach. This was our destination since the planning stages. Kelly’s beach is a long barrier sand dune that protects the inner lagoons and forest from the raging waters wraths. The walk out to the beach is about 1k (boardwalk) it gives you a chance to see tidal pools that include fish from their tiniest moments (Minos). This was where I saw an eagle flying overhead (looking for fish).  

This was an afternoon trip, we left Moncton just before noon, we got to the park just before 1pm. We made our way to Kelly’s Beach, stayed for about 2 hours. As I walked out on the boardwalk something jogged my memory. I looked around at the vast marsh & lagoons and then remembered I actually did set foot in that park in the late 80’s (I was 4 or 5). I guess the mind is a powerful tool, 30 years later I still remember it. Parents brought a picnic (including a slice of coconut cream pie for me) and I waded in the water to cool off while mom & dad lounged on the beach blanket enjoying the views. 

This is where moments become memories, one adventure at a time! 

Eagles above, feet below! 

A view from the water

Mom & dad ahead of me 

About half way to the beach & yes that’s official Parks Canada head gear. I forgot my hat & needed something to cover my head. 

Closer look at my parks Canada head gear! 

Adventure on,

CharFlew

Leave a Reply

