Looking… 

I brought you here to recap my 2016 season. It started on a cold February day… I supported Fast Eddy, who’s almost back home after a second cross country journey (out east & back out west). He did Canada twice while raising funds for Alzheimer’s & Breast cancer causes. It was technically the race I came third in but got turned around at a set of lights before the actual turning spot, so I gave my third place to the right person who did the entire course and got a difference maker medal for that small action. Then I took on Bluenose with Team CBC Halifax, it was made extra special because mom took part with me. The training took us all (parents & I) on some awesome adventures. We discovered 2 city owned parks and enjoyed being out in the fresh air (Mapleton Park & Irishtown Nature Park). I took part in a dream race the following weekend, a multi terrain 8k at the Hopewell Rocks (partly on the ocean floor of the Bay of Fundy). Onward & upwards to my summer race in Saint John New Brunswick. It was a special race because I was featured in a blog post called The Running Whys which lead up to this race. I got to meet 2 running whys contributors. One of them I got my finishers medal from was the official race Marshall and cheerleader. Just thinking about this makes me smile. Next up was something I didn’t think I do again…a multi Race Weekend (Tartan Twosome). Maritime Race Weekend was the highlight of the year, my parents were cheering on the runners with mama/papa pirate shirts I made. I dressed up in a tutu and pirate gear  (I had fun). The sunset 5k, was an emotional run, the night ended with fireworks and smiles. The morning came early and I did another 5k. The morning 5k didn’t come without complications, my race number button snapped apart during my race. I had my first number malfunction. I would have chopped off 29 secords from my personal best time, OH WELL. I know it can be done. I did another dream run and ran 5k on a runway at the inaugural Runway Run at the Moncton Airport, it was fun from takeoff to landing (start to finish). Now I’m 3 days from my last race of 2016, my 10k. My hometown race and TeamCBC. I decided to work up to it (10k) rather then chase away from it (2014/2015 10k was my first race of season). 

I can tell you I’m doing the resolution run (5k) January 1st,2017 and  I’m going back to Maritime Race Weekend in September (not 100% sure which 2 races I’ll do) a 10k could be possible. 

My 2016 kilometres raced (so far) are as follows…

1X3k Fast Eddy  3k

1X8k Rocks.       8k

1X5k (SJ).            5k

2X5k (MRW)      10k

1X5k (GMRLIA)  5k
                              31k          

CharFlew 

 

Leave a Reply

