Looking back & reminiscing

I needed a day away from the hustle & bustle of city life, to my surprise when I asked if my parents could take me to Fundy National park (they said yes)! Mom had worked a long set of continuous shifts so we decided we should get away on a Monday. I packed my jacket & some water, my parents packed a picnic and off we went.

Our first stop after paying admission was the headquarters red chairs (on the bluff). We stopped quick enough to enjoy the view (that’s what the red chairs are about rest & a view) and plan our trails for the day.

First off we went to Herring Cove the sight of the Quietest Concert Ever in 2015. We walked down 150 stairs and showed mom where dad & I had partied on the ocean floor in 2015. Then we rounded the corner to a less strenuous set of stairs up to the coastal trail, mom took the lead on this root filled path and got us back to where we started (parking lot).

Then we went to the point Wolfe river & picnic area, where I found another set of chairs while getting photo bombed by my parents in the car. We crossed over the covered bridge to our picnic area a familiar place because as kids the entire family would celebrate my paternal grandmothers birthday in the park. It’s ironic because her birthday was July 30th (around this time of year).


Our final destination was another familiar trail, Dickson Falls. This loop takes you down & up many stairs while experiencing the ragged terrain. The last time I was there I complained about the stairs, this time did them with gusto. The moss filled gorge is about 10 degrees cooler at the bottom. It was worth it. I did the larger loop, in one spot you have to hike over rocks right next to the brook. Dad & I did the larger loop, mom was tired. She had a mini snooze in the car (it’s how we found her upon arriving back at the car).

We started back to Moncton, this time my parents splurged and got us some famous Kelly’s Bakery sticky buns (we were lucky they just came out of the oven), I had my 2 and off we went homeward bound.

It was a blast from the past,

CharFlew

Leave a Reply

