Amazement! 

Much to my amazement, I’ve been getting feedback on my posts (some more than others)! The BIG THINGS that have STUCK OUT are how much of a HERO I am to some & how AMAZED people are that I’m doing what I do.  

I see running as an adventure, something to just put me outside my comfort zone. I don’t see running just for physical health reasons, I also see it for my overall mental health. I’ve come to the realization just recently as I did my (double double) 5/10k at Bluenose. I got myself up a major hill on the 10k route because of the MENTAL side of running. Like my previous year I had a rough patch up that hill, somehow I was alone & ready to conquer it. I remember feeling so blah at that point, I clinched my teeth together and up that hill I went determined to get it done. I did it & thought as I turned the corner you have 2 more corners and the finish will be yours. I did those corners and booted it to the finish with tears in my eyes as I got closer, I made the IMPOSSIBLE to I’m possible. I did it. I may have looked like a deer in headlights all weekend, but I set out to conquer & DID! 

This leads me to my next adventure…a new race added to my schedule. I’m running 5k for The Terry Fox Run on September 20th, 3 days before I turn 33! This year marks the 35th anniversary of the run, because of that I’m running this 5k on the Confederation Bridge between my home province (New Brunswick) & Prince Edward Island. PEI is my next race after that date. Ironic I’ll be running towards PEI, the last time they closed this bridge (except for weather issues) was 5 years ago for the 30th Terry Fox Run. It’s a fundraiser for Cancer Research, my Grampy F passed away from skin cancer in 2007. 
Please join me in supporting The Terry Fox Run! Help celebrate the 35th Anniversary of Terry’s Marathon of Hope. terryfox.ca/charflew23 if you have issues with the link look up charflew23 as the registrant. 
Hope you can help, 
CharFlew 

One thought on “Amazement! 

Leave a Reply

